Thursday, 18 May 2017

Digital Technologies - Summary of Change


Summary of change


From 2018, Digital Technologies | Hangarau Matihiko (DT | HM) will be integrated into the Technology | Hangarau Learning Areas of The New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa. This means that learners from Year 1 to Year 13 can develop the DT | HM skills that they need to succeed in the 21st century, at a level appropriate for where they are on their learning journey.

We expect DT | HM to have the following learning progressions:
  • Two dual progressions which reflect both The New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa and will include Computational Thinking (covering algorithms, programming and data representation), and Designing and Developing Digital Outcomes (covering digital applications and digital systems); and
  • Two further progressions which reflect the unique aspects of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa: Ngā Ariā o Ngā Whanaketanga Hangarau Matihiko Arareo Māori, and Te Tangata me te Rorohiko.
Learning progressions have already been applied to the development of the Learning Progression Frameworks, which allow us to better understand how students develop expertise in reading, writing and mathematics from Curriculum Levels 1 through 5 (Years 1 to 10). The learning progressions for DT | HM will highlight the major steps (or signposts) that students take as they develop their knowledge, skills and attitudes in DT | HM, from Year 1 to Year 13. For example, when looking at programming, students might develop from programming simple instructions, to developing software or programming robots. Learning progressions link these capabilities together, and help determine how we can best bring students from the first signpost through to the last.

At a senior secondary level, we expect that these new progressions will form the basis of school curriculum development, so they are informing the review of the current achievement standards.

NCEA Content

In advance of the trial, we have produced early drafts of the reviewed NCEA Level 1 matrix and achievement standards. Our expert writers will be continuing to revise these throughout May, using feedback from education and digital technology specialists, along with the wider sector.

We have developed draft Level 1 achievement standards in the two dual progressions mentioned above – CT and DDDO – and in the two progressions unique to Te Marautanga o Aotearoa. The draft Level 1 matrix shows the current titles of these standards. In early June, all trial schools will receive further developed draft curriculum content, the full draft achievement standards, and the draft assessment resources to be trialled in Term 3 this year. Schools would be expected to trial at least one achievement standard.

Draft L1 achievement standards matrix

This was part of the trial letter sent out to schools Term 2 Week 2.


Darren Sudlow said...

I hope these changes are going to recognise the highly collaborative nature of the technology industry Gerard. The standards need to recognise the importance of students working in teams.

oneteachersview said...

funny enough, there has been a specific achievement standard that has been written to support the ideas of collaborative team developed software engineering, with the hope that it goes through to ncea level 3 to support collaborative projects in teams. Sewing the seed,